Vitaly Efimov and Rudolf Grimm Win Faddeev Medal

The international panel of experts, chaired by G. Orlandini (Trento), has selected the winners of the 2018 Faddeev Medal award. They are:

  • Vitaly Efimov: "For the theoretical discovery of a series of weakly-bound three-body quantum states known as Efimov states."
  • Rudolf Grimm: "In recognition of his ground-breaking experiments confirming the Efimov effect."

The award cerimony will take place in Caen, France, during  the 22nd International Conference on Few-body Problems in Physics . For more details on FB22, please see the conference website.

The Faddeev medal was inaugurated in 2016 by the European Research Committee on Few-Body Problems in Physics (ERCFBP)  and the Topical Group on Few-Body Systems & Multiparticle Dynamics (GFB) of the American Physical Society to recognize distinguished achievement in Few-Body Physics. It is named in honor of our distinguished colleague Ludwig Faddeev. The medal is awarded every three years to a scientist (or scientists) who advanced the field of few-body physics significantly—either through ground-breaking research or due to crucial progress achieved over the course of a career.


  Vitaly N. Efimov is a Russian theoretical physicist. He proposed  the existence of a novel and exotic state of matter now dubbed the Efimov State as a researcher in A. F. Ioffe Physico-Technical Institute, USSR Academy of Sciences, Leningrad, USSR in his 1970 paper "Energy levels arising from resonant two-body forces in a three-body system". He is now an affiliate professor of physics at the University of Washington.



Rudolf Grimm is an Austrian experimental physicist. His work focused on Bose–Einstein condensation of atoms and molecules and on fermionic quantum gases. In 2002 his working group succeeded for the first time ever to produce a Bose–Einstein condensate from caesium atoms. In 2006, his working group also succeeded in the first experimental observation of Efimov states. Since year 2000 he is a staff scientist of University of Innsbruck and since 2006 Director of the Research Center for Quantum Physics.