Villi Award

villiThe National Institute of Nuclear Physics intends to remember with this Award the figure of Claudio Villi (1922-1996), a distinguished physicist, called to fill the first Italian chair of Nuclear Physics in Padua in 1961. He was, together with Rostagni, creator and promoter the creation of the National Laboratories of Legnaro, promoting their international competitiveness with the installation of the Tandem accelerator, the first heavy ion machine made in Italy; among the many scientific contributions, we recall the "Clementel and Villi model", at the end of a series of works on the electromagnetic interaction of high-energy electrons with protons; he was President of the INFN from 1970 to 1975; during his presidency, the Institute's structural and organizational model was established, which still characterizes it in its particular lines.

Villi Award 2020

The Villi Award for the best doctoral thesis, carried out within the National Scientific Commission III and discussed in the period 1 June 2019 - 31 May 2020, was awarded to Dr. Fabrizio Grosa. The title of the thesis is "Strange and non-strange D-meson production with ALICE at LHC", and was carried out at the Polytechnic and the INFN section in Turin.

The committee was made up of Drs Giovanna Benzoni, Raffaella De Vita, Alba Formicola and dr. Enrico Scomparin and Rosario Nania.

The award ceremony, which took place online during the CSN3 meeting of 21 April 2021, was chaired by dr. D. Bettoni, member of the INFN Executive Board, and by the President of CSN3 dott. R. Nania.

Special mention was given to Dr. Luca Marsicano, who defended a thesis entitled "Beam-dump experiment", at the University and the INFN section in Genoa.

Villi Award 2019

The "Claudio Villi" Award for the best doctoral thesis in nuclear physics discussed in the period from 1 June 2018 to 31 May 2019 was awarded to Dr. Lucia Anna Damone, author of the thesis titled "7Be(n,p)7Li cross section measurement for the Cosmological Lithium Problem at the n_TOF facility at CERN", who conducted his studies at the Physics Department "M. Merlin” and the INFN section of Bari.

The award ceremony was held electronically, during the meeting of the National Scientific Commission III of 21 April 2020 chaired by Dr. R. Nania and in the presence of the members of the Executive Board of the INFN Dr. D. Bettoni and Dr. E Nappi.

Villi Award 2017

The "Claudio Villi" 2017 Award for the best doctoral thesis in nuclear physics was awarded by CSN3 to Federico Ferraro, of the University and INFN Section of Genoa, for the thesis: "Direct measurement of the 22Ne(p,γ)23Na reaction cross section at astrophysical energies".

Villi Award 2018

The "Claudio Villi" 2018 Award for the best doctoral thesis in nuclear physics, awarded on April 10, 2019, was won by Daniele Dell'Aquila (University of Naples / Paris-Saclay University - R. Bošković Institute of Zagreb) for the thesis "Clusters in light nuclear systems: a multi-method approach".

Villi Award 2016

The "Claudio Villi" 2016 Award for the best doctoral thesis in nuclear physics was awarded by CSN3 to Simone Ceruti of the University and INFN Section of Milan, for the thesis entitled: "Test of the isospin symmetry via Giant Dipole Resonance decay range".

CSN3 Grants and job openings

The position of head of the nuclear science and instrumentation laboratory of the IAEA Laboratories in Seibersdorf (Austria) is open. More details at this link



Login Form

csn2 csn3 csn4 csn5 infn uffcom amministrazione-trasparente